Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Torrenting Thread

Da_MuffinzDa_Muffinz Posts: 2,972 balls deep
Just curious as to what people use as their downloading software but most of all what programs do you use for blocking your IP and other lists? I'm fairly new to this. On my laptop I have Vuze and PeerBlock. I'm trying to do the same on my home computer but PeerBlock is down so I can't get it on here. Trying to find new shit.

Comments

• WakeOfAshesWakeOfAshes Posts: 21,665 destroyer of motherfuckers
    Vuse and Peerblock are good starts. I use Peerblock and for a client I use Transmission. Honestly I am not too sure how useful Peerblock is.

To really protect myself though, I am very selective about where I download torrents from. Open sites like The Pirate Bay, Kickasstorrentz, etc are dangerous as hell... And I treat downloading anything from places like that, the same way I do if I accidentally drop something in the toilet. basically do I want it bad enough that I am going to roll up my sleeve, and reach into that nasty toilet, to grab that thing? 99.9% of the time the answer is no.

So I have membership on sites that are very exclusive to get into. They have limited membership and to get into the sites you need to know someone that knows someone. If someone invites the RIAA/MPAA/cops/etc and the site owners find out about it because they monitor that shit closely- Then the whole invite tree is flushed and everyone is kicked off.

I have sites for :
    Music
    Games
    TV
    Movies
    general
    books
  • Da_MuffinzDa_Muffinz Posts: 2,972 balls deep
    I seem to do alright on both of those websites. Maybe the movies I download aren't as important. That's all I download anyways. Do you have any recommendations?